Wat is dit voor site? Wij zoeken de goedkoopste boeken op internet. Haunting Bombayvonden we het goedkoopst op Bol.com voor €13.99. We hebben gezocht in nieuwe en tweedehands boeken. Rechtsonderaan de pagina kan je het boek direct bestellen via Bol .com.

Haunting Bombay

Engels | E-book | 9781569477083 | 368 pagina's

Shilpa Agarwal - 9781569477083

 

Engels | E-book | 9781569477083 | 368 pagina's

"[An] intriguing debut novel...Agarwal seeks to give voice to the dispossessed through the supernatural."—USA Today


"[Shilpa] Agarwal's work will definitely appeal to fans of Monica Ali and Jhumpa Lahiri by virtue of its characters and setting, but it retains a fresh, original feel that will draw in new readers with its own literary merit. Recommended for all but the smallest fiction collections."—Library Journal

"In her stunning debut novel Shilpa Agarwal takes on the ghosts that bedevil young Pinky Mittal's extended family and dispatches them with rambunctious wit and affection. The result is like finely wrought mirror work, a glittering tapestry of vibrant contradictions, characters, and mysteries. Haunting Bombay flirts deliciously with the true spirit of India."—Aimee Liu, author of Flash House

After her mother"s death crossing the border from Pakistan to India during Partition, baby Pinky was taken in by her grandmother, Maji, the matriarch of the powerful Mittal family. Now thirteen years old, Pinky lives with her grandmother and her uncle"s family in a bungalow on the Malabar Heights in Bombay. While she has never really been accepted by her uncle"s family, she has always had Maji"s love.

One day, as monsoons engulf the city, Pinky opens a mysteriously bolted door, unleashing the ghosts of an infant who drowned shortly before Pinky"s arrival and of the nursemaid who cared for the child. Three generations of the Mittal family must struggle to come to terms with their secrets amidst hidden shame, forbidden love, and a call for absolute sacrifice.

Shilpa Agarwal was born in Bombay and currently lives in Los Angeles. She is a graduate of Duke University and UCLA and has taught at both UCLA and UC Santa Barbara. As an unpublished novel, Haunting Bombay won a 2003 First Words Literary Prize for South Asian Writers. It is her first novel.


From the Hardcover edition.

 

 Levertijd:   Direct beschikbaar

13.99
(Exclusief €1,99 verzendkosten)

Haunting Bombay Engels | E-book | 9781569477083 | 368 pagina's
TaalEngels
BindwijzeE-book
Verschijningsdatumapril 2009
Aantal pagina's368 pagina's
Ebook formaatAdobe ePub
IllustratiesNee
Auteur(s)Shilpa Agarwal
UitgeverSoho Press
Lees dit ebook opAndroid (smartphone en tablet) | Kobo e-reader | Overige e-reader | Desktop (Mac en Windows) | iOS (smartphone en tablet) | Windows (smartphone en tablet)
Ebook formaatAdobe ePub
Extra groot lettertypeNee
StudieboekNee



Laat hier je e-mail adres achter en de prijs die je voor het boek wil betalen. Wij laten je dan automatisch weten wanneer het boek voor jouw prijs beschikbaar is.



  Bekijk alle opties  Afrekenen  Voeg toe aan lijst