Wat is dit voor site? Wij zoeken de goedkoopste boeken op internet. Gracefully Insanevonden we het goedkoopst op Bol.com voor €2.49. We hebben gezocht in nieuwe en tweedehands boeken. Rechtsonderaan de pagina kan je het boek direct bestellen via Bol .com.

Gracefully Insane

Engels | Druk: 1ste Editie | E-book | 9780786750368 | 288 pagina's

Alex Beam - 9780786750368

 

Engels | Druk: 1ste Editie | E-book | 9780786750368 | 288 pagina's

Its landscaped ground, chosen by Frederick Law Olmsted and dotted with Tudor mansions, could belong to a New England prep school. There are no fences, no guards, no locked gates. But McLean Hospital is a mental institution-one of the most famous, most elite, and once most luxurious in America. McLean "alumni" include Olmsted himself, Robert Lowell, Sylvia Plath, James Taylor and Ray Charles, as well as (more secretly) other notables from among the rich and famous. In its "golden age," McLean provided as genteel an environment for the treatment of mental illness as one could imagine. But the golden age is over, and a downsized, downscale McLean-despite its affiliation with Harvard University-is struggling to stay afloat. Gracefully Insane, by Boston Globe columnist Alex Beam, is a fascinating and emotional biography of McLean Hospital from its founding in 1817 through today. It is filled with stories about patients and doctors: the Ralph Waldo Emerson prot'g' whose brilliance disappeared along with his madness; Anne Sexton's poetry seminar, and many more. The story of McLean is also the story of the hopes and failures of psychology and psychotherapy; of the evolution of attitudes about mental illness, of approaches to treatment, and of the economic pressures that are making McLean-and other institutions like it-relics of a bygone age.

This is a compelling and often oddly poignant reading for fans of books like Plath's The Bell Jar and Susanna Kaysen's Girl, Interrupted (both inspired by their author's stays at McLean) and for anyone interested in the history of medicine or psychotherapy, or the social history of New England.

 

 Levertijd:   Direct beschikbaar

2.49
(Exclusief €1,99 verzendkosten)

Gracefully Insane Engels | Druk: 1ste Editie | E-book | 9780786750368 | 288 pagina's
TaalEngels
BindwijzeE-book
Druk1ste Editie
Verschijningsdatumjuli 2009
AfmetingenAfmeting: 21 x 14 x 1,9 cm
Aantal pagina's288 pagina's
Ebook formaat-688643
IllustratiesNee
Auteur(s)Alex Beam
UitgeverPublicaffairs
Lees dit ebook opAndroid (smartphone en tablet) | Kobo e-reader | Overige e-reader | Desktop (Mac en Windows) | iOS (smartphone en tablet) | Windows (smartphone en tablet)
Ebook formaat-688643
Extra groot lettertypeNee
Gewicht340 g
StudieboekJa
Verpakking hoogte19 mm



Laat hier je e-mail adres achter en de prijs die je voor het boek wil betalen. Wij laten je dan automatisch weten wanneer het boek voor jouw prijs beschikbaar is.



  Bekijk alle opties  Afrekenen  Voeg toe aan lijst